The Witherstone Trilogy

Witherstone a story about a girl trying to save her family. 

“Witherstone is a really outstanding read – good old-fashioned storytelling, in the very best sense; engaging and gripping as only the most skilfull writing can be.” Gordon Askew.


Witherstone is a sinister tale of mysterious enemies, witchcraft and murder…

In Witherstone, Hephzibah Creswell discovers that she and her family have a mysterious and deadly enemy. When the Plague sweeps through her small English village, ‘Eppie’ acts to try to save her sister’s life, but her actions unleash devastating consequences for her whole family.

A gripping tale of mysterious enemies with murderous intentions, Witherstone is set in the years following the English Civil Wars in a society riddled with social inequality, religious turmoil and fears of witchcraft, and where a girl is fighting to save her family.

“One of the most exciting books – ever! I really loved it and can’t wait for the next one to come out.” Hattie, 14, Lancashire.

“A gripping read … I couldn’t put it down.” Chris, 47, Lancashire.

loved this … It’s an enormously tense story … knowing there are more I’m gagging to see what happens next!” Sian, Manchester.

“It’s genuinely ‘unputdownable’, and was still circling through my mind long after I’d finished.” Scraggle Hag, Amazon reviewer.  

“The plot is gripping and the narrative carries the story with pace, creating a feeling of deep unease as Eppie uncovers the truth…..I can’t wait for the next instalment.” Chris Caretaker, Amazon reviewer.

“Witherstone is a really outstanding read – good old-fashioned storytelling, in the very best sense; engaging and gripping as only the most skilfull writing can be.” Gordon Askew.

‘an exciting story and … unputdownable … the quality of the writing made this novel more than just a heart-thumping good read … a book for all times and places.’ T. Stoker, Greece, Amazon reviewer.

Read 5* Amazon reviews in full here.


The Witherstone Trilogy Witherstone, The Hunt Begins, and The Book of Shadows are available in paperback, and for Kindle and iPad from and – and are now in the real world at Waterstones, Preston. Also selling in Broadhursts in Southport…!


The Witherstone trilogy is crossover fiction, enthralling young adults and older readers alike.



Book 2 in The Witherstone trilogy:  

The Hunt Begins

Hephzibah Creswell is running out of time. And her enemies are closing in.

In the second book of the Witherstone trilogy, Hephzibah uncovers a deadly secret, and realises the murderous extent to which her enemies will go to destroy her family.

The hunt is on – and she is the prey.

‘Brunning does it again! Darker than the first … full of suspense … Loved it!’  Waterstones, Preston


The Hunt Begins now available in paperback and for Kindle on Amazon, and from Waterstones, Preston and Broadhursts, Southport.


Final Part of The Witherstone TrilogyThe Book of Shadows:


The Book of ShadowsThere’s nowhere left to hide. Eppie finds herself trapped in the most dangerous place she could possibly be, and time is running out. Fast.

In the final part of The Witherstone Trilogy, The Book of Shadows, Hephzibah Creswell’s fight to save herself and what’s left of her family looks doomed to fail.

“Nail-bitingly brilliant. The tension is relentless. A cracking read.”  Chris Caretaker.


Latest NEWS here, and on J A Brunning’s blog here.


Carrion Crow courtesy & ©Darren Chapman of  . 
Background & Witherstone banner montage image, and front cover material ©J.A.Brunning .